My First ADDY

Friday night was remarkable as the annual local ADDY Award Show took place at our very own campus auditorium. The event was attended by hundreds of professionals from the Central Minnesota advertising industry, celebrating excellence in advertising practices – both at students and professionals level.

I was honored to be able to attend the event as a potential award recipient. My Advertising Creatives course professor, Mr. Eden, submitted a work of mine that was done for his class two semesters ago and was selected as a winning entry at the ADDY. Mr. Eden has some really good eyes on such work as he is a veteran in the industry. He made us presented our works at in his class and asked us to defend every idea that was presented. I vividly remember how I was nailed to the core for I do not know nothing nice to say about my own designs.

But this particular work that I presented on one fine morning caught his attention and he was hyped about the idea. He told me that he will submit it for the ADDY so it can be recognized by other professionals. So two semesters have then passed, and I have totally  forgotten about his intention to enter the competition.

Two weeks ago, I got an email from Mr. Eden indicating that the work is now selected and the results will be announced at the award show. Fasting forward to the announcement of winners – my heart pounded as fast as it could when it comes to the student category. My work won a Gold ADDY and was also selected as Judge’s Choice for the category. I was so excited as I walked up the stage to receive the trophies.

Lesson of the day: do not take your class assignments lightly. Who knows one of these days they will surface as some award-winning works. I want to encourage all current students to do their best and let their creative minds take the wheel.

I now look forward to compete with the rest of Minnesota districts at ADDY second tier level. Wish me luck!

Top image courtesy of AdFed Central MN @ Facebook.
About Jason Tham

Jason Tham is a PhD student at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. His research interests are digital pedagogy, connectivism and connected learning, computers and writing, and visual rhetoric.
This entry was posted in ADDY, Advertising, copywriting, Design, Graphic design and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First ADDY

  1. gundam says:

    thanks.very good blog and very good share.

Tell me what you think

